Team Missouri wins all-star tournament!

Congratulations to Team Missouri A for winning the 2024 National All-Star Academic Tournament and Missouri B for finishing tied for fourth place! Yrwin Batan of Missouri B and Camden Williams of Missouri A were also the top two individual scorers!Looking for practice material? Find thousands of free archived packets for practice and study from the Quizbowl Packet Archive!

Tiger Varsity Tournament @ Lee's Summit High School - February 24, 2024

Tournament announcements, results, and discussion about specific tournaments.
Post Reply
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 2:53 pm

Tiger Varsity Tournament @ Lee's Summit High School - February 24, 2024

Post by diana.lehman »

Lee’s Summit High School is pleased to announce the inaugural Tiger Varsity Tournament 2024. This tournament will occur at Lee’s Summit High School (400 SE Blue Parkway, Lee’s Summit, Missouri 64063) on February 24, 2024. Diana Lehman will be directing the tournament. We are setting a preliminary cap of 18 teams for this event, but we may expand the field should there be enough interest and enough staff to meet the needs of an expanded field. Providing competent staff (moderators/scorekeepers) will elevate placement on the waitlist.

This tournament is open to all high school teams eligible for MSHSAA-sanctioned Scholar Bowl events. Team rosters may have up to six players for the day, with four players playing simultaneously. Teams are encouraged to register as many teams as they would like, with an initial cap of two teams.

We are committed to ensuring a safe and welcoming atmosphere for this tournament's competitors, coaches, staff, and spectators. In addition to all applicable MSHSAA and school sportsmanship and personal conduct policies, participants must abide by Section I (Ethics and Conduct) of the Partnership for Academic Competition Excellence's Code of Conduct.

Question Set:
This tournament will use the IS-226 set. This set is currently used at these tournaments. Please ensure your team is not competing at any of these events.

Tournament Format:
Games will consist of twenty tossups worth ten points each and three bonuses worth up to thirty points. Bonuses will NOT rebound. This tournament will use 15-point “powers” for early correct buzzes on tossups, and -5-point “negs” will be assigned for early incorrect buzzes. In the event of a tied game after twenty tossup/bonus cycles, teams will hear tossups until the score changes.

We intend to begin round 1 at approximately 8:30 AM Central. Registered teams should arrive around 7:30 AM for check-in. A lunch break will follow five preliminary rounds, with all teams returning from lunch for championship or consolation games in the afternoon. All teams will be guaranteed ten games; we anticipate most teams being done for the day at approximately 5:00 p.m.

Base entry fee: $75 per team
Buzzer discount: $5 discount per working buzzer system. Each system must be fully functional for eight players.
Moderator discount: $10 discount per experienced moderator. We will reserve the right to choose our moderators.
The minimum fee per team after all discounts is $60.

Registration and Waitlist:
Tournament information, including a list of registered teams and current staff counts, will be updated regularly on the NAQT website. Please register using this link and contact Diana Lehman ( with any questions.

Post Reply